GUAV

News Sports

Indian Premier League 2021 to begin on April 9 in Chennai with games initially staged behind closed doors

3 min read
Advertisement

Defending champions Mumbai Indians to begin IPL season against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on April 9 as tournament returns to India; competition will begin behind closed doors with call on fans attending to be made at later stage; watch every game live on Sky Sports

Mumbai Indians won the IPL in 2019 and 2020 and have a record five wins in the tournament overall

Mumbai Indians won the IPL in 2019 and 2020 and have a record five wins in the tournament overall

The 2021 Indian Premier League will begin in Chennai on April 9 with games initially being staged behind closed doors.

The tournament will return to India – having been held in the United Arab Emirates in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic – with games to take place across Chennai, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Delhi, Mumbai and Kolkata.

The BCCI says a call on allowing fans to attend will be taken at a later stage of the tournament.

    IPL squads for 2021

Defending champions Mumbai Indians – who beat Delhi Capitals in the 2020 final in November to win the IPL for a fifth time – kick off the season against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

India fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah plays for defending champions Mumbai Indians India fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah plays for defending champions Mumbai Indians

The 110,000-capacity Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the largest cricket ground in the world, will host the play-offs as well as the final on Sunday, May 30.

No sides will play at their respective home venues with all games to be played at neutral stadiums.

Teams will only travel three times during the league phase to “reduce commute and minimise risk” of the spread of Covid-19, says the BCCI.

The tournament will finish three days before England host New Zealand in the first Test match of the summer at Lord’s.

IPL SCHEDULE 2021

Friday, April 9 – Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Saturday, April 10 – Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals

Sunday, April 11 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Monday, April 12 – Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings

Tuesday, April 13 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians

Wednesday, April 14 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Thursday, April 15 – Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals

Friday, April 16 – Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings

Saturday, April 17 – Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunday, April 18

Advertisement
Advertisement
– Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders; Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings

Monday, April 19 – Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals

Tuesday, April 20 – Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians

Wednesday, April 21 – Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad; Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai

Thursday, April 22 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals

Friday, April 23 – Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians

Saturday, April 24 – Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Sunday, April 25 – Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore; Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals

Monday, April 26 – Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Tuesday, April 27 – Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Wednesday, April 28 – Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Thursday, April 29 – Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals; Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Friday, April 30 – Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Saturday, May 1 – Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

Sunday, May 2 – Rajasthan Royals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad; Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals

Monday, May 3 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Tuesday, May 4 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians

Wednesday, May 5 – Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings

Thursday, May 6 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings

Friday, May 7 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings

Saturday, May 8 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals; Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians

Sunday, May 9 – Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings; Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Monday, May 10 – Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Tuesday, May 11 Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals

Wednesday, May 12 – Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Thursday, May 13 – Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings; Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals

Friday, May 14 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals

Saturday, May 15 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings

Sunday, May 16 – Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore; Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

Monday, May 17 – Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Tuesday, May 18 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals

Wednesday, May 19 – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings

Thursday, May 20 – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians

Friday, May 21 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad; Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings

Saturday, May 22 – Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals

Sunday, May 23 – Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals; Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings

Tuesday, May 25 – Qualifier 1

Wednesday, May 26 – Eliminator

Friday, May 28 – Qualifier 2

Sunday, May 30 – IPL FINAL (Ahmedabad)

Every game from the 2021 Indian Premier League will be shown live on Sky Sports.

Source

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *